Auf den Spuren der Habsburger

The archdukes in Alsace up to 1648

Ferdinand I
Ferdinand I around 1527.

After the death of Ferdinand I in 1564, the Austrian branch of the Hapsburgs divides into several segments. The older part retains the imperial crown and the younger part receives the foothills and Tyrol. Ferdinand II (dies in 1595) and his nephew Maximilian III (dies in 1618) do not live in Alsace. On the other hand, Leopold V, elected bishop of Strasbourg in 1608, settles on the banks of the Rhine in 1612 where he lives with his court in Molsheim, Rouffach and Freiburg. In 1626 he renounces his ecclesiastical dignities and marries Claudia de Medeci. In this way he founds a new branch of the dynasty which he wants to establish in a territorial principality. However, these politics of hegemony do not succeed, due to the war which the Swedes wage starting in 1632, and also because of the premature death of Leopold V in September 1632. Claudia rules now with the aid of the Chancellor Volmar in the name of her son.

Ferdinand II.
Since Ferdinand II married a citizen of Augsburg, his children cannot inherit the possessions of the Hapsburgs.
Leopold V in bishop's vestments
Leopold V in bishop's vestments.

[Translate to english:] So sieht es aus

(Kopie 2)

Idealbildnis von Heinrich "Jasomirgott", dem seit 1156 ersten Herzog von sterreich. (Glasfenster, Zisterzienserabtei Stift Heiligenkreuz, A-Heiligenkreuz)

Top 5

(Kopie 3)